Looney Dunes SS-001

  • Exterior
    1 of 25 - Exterior
  • Oceanfront Deck
    2 of 25 - Oceanfront Deck
  • Private Oceanfront Pool
    3 of 25 - Private Oceanfront Pool
  • Top-Level Living Area
    4 of 25 - Top-Level Living Area
  • Top-Level Living Area
    5 of 25 - Top-Level Living Area
  • Top-Level Living Area
    6 of 25 - Top-Level Living Area
  • Top-Level Dining Area
    7 of 25 - Top-Level Dining Area
  • Top-Level Kitchen
    8 of 25 - Top-Level Kitchen
  • Top-Level King Master Bedroom w/ Ocean Views
    9 of 25 - Top-Level King Master Bedroom w/ Ocean Views
  • Top-Level King Master Bedroom
    10 of 25 - Top-Level King Master Bedroom
  • King Master Bathroom
    11 of 25 - King Master Bathroom
  • Mid-Level King Bedroom
    12 of 25 - Mid-Level King Bedroom
  • King Bedroom
    13 of 25 - King Bedroom
  • Mid-Level King Bedroom
    14 of 25 - Mid-Level King Bedroom
  • King Bedroom
    15 of 25 - King Bedroom
  • Mid-Level Queen Bedroom
    16 of 25 - Mid-Level Queen Bedroom
  • Mid-Level Queen Bedroom
    17 of 25 - Mid-Level Queen Bedroom
  • Mid-Level Bunk Bedroom
    18 of 25 - Mid-Level Bunk Bedroom
  • Bunk Bedroom
    19 of 25 - Bunk Bedroom
  • Recreation Room
    20 of 25 - Recreation Room
  • Recreation Room
    21 of 25 - Recreation Room
  • Oceanfront Deck
    22 of 25 - Oceanfront Deck
  • Oceanfront Deck
    23 of 25 - Oceanfront Deck
  • Ocean Views
    24 of 25 - Ocean Views
  • Oceanfront Exterior
    25 of 25 - Oceanfront Exterior
  • Bedrooms: 6
  • Baths: 5 & 2 Half
  • Location: Oceanfront
  • Town: Southern Shores, NC
  • Parking: 6 spaces
  • View: Ocean
  • Check-in: Sunday
  • Length of Stay: Weekly, Mini Vacations
  • Property Type: Sun Select
  • Beach Gear Included: more info
Bedding: 3 Kings, 2 Queens, 2 Bunk Beds
Introducing Looney Dunes! Come have a relaxing vacation in this stunning, professionally decorated, oceanfront estate with every amenity imaginable. A gourmet kitchen, granite counters, elevator, Brazilian cherry floors, 2 fireplaces, jetted tub in master suite and a complete sports bar with home theater makes this the best equipped house on the beach.

Enjoy the private saltwater pool and hot tub or just pick a comfortable chair on one of the decks and enjoy the amazing views, the sound of the ocean, and smell of the salty air. From the flat screen TVs to the 4 oceanfront master suites, this house is designed for luxury and convenience. Energy efficient lighting throughout makes this home environmentally responsible. Be sure to enjoy the custom home theater. Bed linens are provided for all weekly reservations for 2018.
Looney Dunes, also includes outdoor grill, foot wash, outdoor showers and ample outdoor seating so folks can spend time together. Located in the quiet elegance of Southern Shores, Looney Dunes is close to fine dining, shopping, family activities and only minutes from the bridge.

Planning an upcoming beach wedding or family reunion, this family vacation home could be suitable for your needs.


Features:
Standard PlusPool Table6TV/3DVD
Bed LinensStereo w/CDSurround Sound
2 Gas Fireplaces2 Microwaves2 Dishwashers
2 RefrigeratorsWine ChillerIce Maker
Covered PorchElevatorOutside Shower
Deck FurnitureSports BarGas Grill
Smoke FreeHot TubPrivate Saltwater Pool
Sheets only

Layout:
Entry Level: Gameroom with pool table, sports bar, 1/2 bath
Mid Level: 2 bunkbeds with ocean view and private bath, 2 queen bedrooms with shared full bath, 2 king masters with ocean views
Top Level: Living area, dining area, kitchen, large king master with ocean views, jacuzzi, and fireplace

This home has now gone green, in an effort to conserve energy and the environment.

List View of Rental Rates

Check-in Day1 Week2 Weeks
September 30, 2018ReservedReserved
October 7, 2018$3,120.00 $2,303.70$4,243.70
October 14, 2018$2,425.00 $1,940.00$3,880.00
October 21, 2018$2,425.00 $1,940.00$3,880.00
October 28, 2018$2,425.00 $1,940.00$4,365.00
November 4, 2018$2,425.00$4,850.00
November 11, 2018$2,425.00$4,850.00
November 18, 2018$2,425.00$4,850.00
November 25, 2018$2,425.00$4,850.00
December 2, 2018$2,425.00$4,850.00
December 9, 2018$2,425.00$4,850.00
December 16, 2018$2,425.00$4,850.00
December 23, 2018$2,425.00$4,850.00
December 30, 2018$2,425.00$4,420.00
January 6, 2019$1,995.00$3,990.00
January 13, 2019$1,995.00$3,990.00
January 20, 2019$1,995.00$3,990.00
January 27, 2019$1,995.00$3,990.00
February 3, 2019$1,995.00$3,990.00
February 10, 2019$1,995.00$3,990.00
February 17, 2019$1,995.00$3,990.00
February 24, 2019$1,995.00$3,990.00
March 3, 2019$1,995.00$3,990.00
March 10, 2019$1,995.00$3,990.00
March 17, 2019$1,995.00$3,990.00
March 24, 2019$1,995.00$4,295.00
March 31, 2019$2,300.00$4,600.00
April 7, 2019$2,300.00$4,600.00
April 14, 2019$2,300.00Reserved
April 21, 2019ReservedReserved
April 28, 2019ReservedReserved
May 5, 2019ReservedReserved
May 12, 2019ReservedReserved
May 19, 2019ReservedReserved
May 26, 2019$4,495.00$9,245.00
June 2, 2019$4,750.00$10,800.00
June 9, 2019$6,050.00Reserved
June 16, 2019ReservedReserved
June 23, 2019$8,895.00$17,890.00
June 30, 2019$8,995.00$17,990.00
July 7, 2019$8,995.00$17,990.00
July 14, 2019$8,995.00$17,990.00
July 21, 2019$8,995.00$17,990.00
July 28, 2019$8,995.00$17,990.00
August 4, 2019$8,995.00$17,990.00
August 11, 2019$8,995.00$16,690.00
August 18, 2019$7,695.00$13,990.00
August 25, 2019$6,295.00$11,290.00
September 1, 2019$4,995.00$9,790.00
September 8, 2019$4,795.00$8,190.00
September 15, 2019$3,395.00$6,790.00
September 22, 2019$3,395.00$6,790.00
September 29, 2019$3,395.00$6,790.00
October 6, 2019$3,395.00$6,790.00
October 13, 2019$3,395.00$6,790.00
October 20, 2019$3,395.00$6,790.00
October 27, 2019$3,395.00$6,790.00
November 3, 2019$3,395.00$6,790.00
November 10, 2019$3,395.00$6,790.00
November 17, 2019$3,395.00$5,695.00
November 24, 2019$2,300.00$5,695.00
December 1, 2019$3,395.00$6,790.00
December 8, 2019$3,395.00$6,790.00
December 15, 2019$3,395.00$5,695.00
December 22, 2019$2,300.00$4,600.00
December 29, 2019$2,300.00Reserved
Key: Available Reserved Rate Reduction Holiday Check-in

Your Feedback is Important to Sun Realty!

Please read our policy regarding customer reviews here.

Date of Stay *
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Vertical Tabs

2

Nice view, but....

Yes, it was a beautiful beachfront view, but... Carpet and furniture have noticeable dirty spots. Furniture is pretty worn. Bed mattress had to be changed out in 3rd fl master. The photos make the rooms appear far more spacious than what they are: one can barely move around the furniture in the downstairs rooms. As a previous reviewer stated, only one bedroom is large enough for someone with disabilities to get around in. We found only one DVD player in the house; 2 bedrooms do not have a TV. The kitchen dishwasher never worked while we were there. The second dishwasher (over 10 years old) in lower level was leaking when used as a substitute; this machine was fixed while we were there, but schlepping dishes from 3rd to 1st level and back up again to 3rd/kitchen level made for less than optimum vacation. 3rd level deck shakes when anyone walks across it. Pool was not very deep but refreshing. Elevator was great (especially considering the dish-carrying that had to be done), but not big enough for a wheelchair. The big dining table had 9 chairs. Our party of 12 had to move 3 deck chairs into the house every meal we ate together. The laundry room is awkwardly located off the 3rd floor MBR; machines are new and functional. I don't think this property should be rated "Sun Select".
- KathyM Jun 2018
3

Great location; House is clearly a rental, not someone’s prized beach house.

Pros: The house is great for 8-14 people. Location is great for being away from the KDH crowds but not needing to drive 45 minutes through the Duck bottleneck. Elevator, though not fast, is useful. Negatives: A lot of the furniture feels like it was scavenged from other places- it doesn’t quite fit right in the space. The bedroom furniture is crammed into the rooms. There’s not much space to move around. The sectional sofa is much too big for the space on the top floor and “shabby chic” (and not in a good way) seems to be decorating style. Be prepared to need to schedule when to do laundry. The ONLY laundry room in the entire house is located off of the master bedroom. So inconvenient!! It would be better if they had a set on the first floor off of the garage so you’re not walking through someone’s bedroom to do laundry. We seemed to be the first renters of the season and so many things were broken or just not cleaned or maintained. Mold-spotted furniture in the closet on the first floor. Dirt stains on the carpets. Musty air in the house. The air conditioning was spotty for the entire first week and we needed to call Sun 3 times just for the AC alone. To their credit, Sun did send someone with window units that kept the top floor about 76 degrees, but still. This was something that should have been taken care of BEFORE renters step foot in the house, but hey, they still got their money.
- Denise Jun 2018

Comments

Your feedback is important, and we thank you for your review. It is very unfortunate that the air conditioning was working properly before your arrival however started acting up during your first week of vacation. Please know if we were aware of an air conditioning issue or even if there was a possibility before your arrival we would have immediately dispatched vendor to address. Offering a well-maintained vacation home for our guests is top priority so we are very apologetic that your vacation did not start with arriving to a home in top condition. Again, thank you for the feedback and for allowing us to host your 2018 vacation! Come back soon!  ~Team Kitty Hawk
3

Great Location

First here's the good. I would give this home a five star rating for its location on the beach. The top level with the master, dining room, living room and kitchen is great for large families. The elevator was a welcomed feature as a member of our family has bad knees. The view from the multiple decks is outstanding (morning sunrises with coffee made the week). The pool is lovely and the beach cart provided was a huge help. Now for the bad. The three star rating is due to the home needing a great deal of love and attention. If you plan on cooking in this home, bring your own pots and pans. The ones supplied with the home are very old with no Teflon making it difficult to cook on them and clean them. The carpets in the 2nd floor bedrooms are absolutely filthy. The rooms on the 2nd floor are small with large furniture. In fact, two of the rooms have large TV armoire, but no TVs in them. Many of the issues identified in the 2014 reviews still exist. The dishes are still broken and cracked (though a set of Correlle was added). The sliding doors on the 2nd floor are still difficult to open and close. The living room arm chair is extremely dirty (sitting in it made me freak out). The vegetation outside the pool fence has grown inside the fence to the point that weeds are growing around the pool area. The home needs maintenance, but overall the location of this home made up for the issues.
- Diane Jun 2018

Comments

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for suggesting general upkeep items that will help enhance our guests vacation experience while at Looney Dunes. We appreciate your feedback. These items have been turned over to management and a detailed inspection will be completed. Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay with us. ~Kitty Hawk Office
5

Mr.

The rental was everything we had hoped it would be, I have been coming to the Outer Banks as man and boy since 1954 and in my experience, the view of the water and access to the beach are unmatched. The amenities are first rate and since I was traveling with my 90-year-old mother, the elevator was an integral part of the visit. For those who like to explore, access by car to the northern and southern parts of the banks is very convenient. I hope to return very soon. but without the hurricane.
- Robert Shemeld Oct 2016
4

Great Vacation House

Loved this house. Beautiful views of the ocean. I only give this home four stars because the five bedrooms on the 2nd level are very small and hard to move around in. Each room had very old and small TV. But who stays in the bedroom while at the beach. Master suite was fabulous and the third floor was laid out well and tastefully furnished and decorated. Great kitchen and huge dinning table for all guests. Kitchen dishes were cracked, chipped and broken so attention to detail needs improvement, especially for a "luxury home". Overall I would recommend the house for a great vacation as long as the dish set is replaced.
- Mark Conklin Dec 2014

Comments

Thank you for your very kind review. Looney Dunes is a beautiful home, and I'm so glad you were able to enjoy it. I'd also like to thank you for your feedback on the dishes. We have gone in and replaced the dishes with a new set.   
4

Wonderful, but handicap difficulties

We really loved this luxury house right on the ocean. Almost everything about it was perfect. We had one guest in a wheel chair and worked hard to find a place that would accommodate her. She was able to make it into the elevator, though it was a bit tight at the door, and an extra wide chair would not have fit. There was only one room that had both a wide enough door and had the furniture was arranged so that a chair could be used in the room. This is the top room. The shower was a low threshold, walk-in type shower with a bench, but you can not wheel a chair into the shower, and you cannot fit two people in the shower for assistance with a handicapped person. Our wheelchair guest was not able to use the shower. We still enjoyed our stay very much, but we did not do enough research to confirm what type of handicap accommodations there are. I wish the sites would be more descriptive and show specific photos of the handicap options to make the choice easier. But the Sun Realty staff is very easy to work with and were very helpful. The house was clean and had everything we needed in the kitchen. A few light bulbs out, and one day the A/C couldn't keep up on the 3rd floor, but overall very very happy.
- Alicia Reenders Oct 2013
*Please note that bed and bath linens are not a standard amenity. Guests may bring their own bed sheets and bath towels from home or you may rent them from Sun Realty for a reasonable weekly price. However, some properties do offer linens as a bonus amenity (refer to the property description for details). Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions about bed or bath linens.

*Pools for 2018: Heated pools are generally open from the 2nd week of April to the 3rd week of October, while unheated pools are generally open from the second week of May to the 2nd week of October. Hot tubs are open year-round, unless otherwise specified. Should you have any questions regarding the pool at your vacation home, please feel free to contact us.

*SunRealtyNC.com makes all attempts to be as accurate as possible. However, Sun Realty does not guarantee that property, product, or service descriptions (or other content of this site) is completely accurate, current, or error-free. Please contact our office with any special needs or specific concerns regarding Sun Realty's Outer Banks vacation rentals or services. We are always happy to answer questions or verify information.

Select your arrival day

prev next
September 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSaSu
xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx
x242526272829x
xxxxxxxx
October 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSaSu
xxxxxxxx
0708091011121314
1415161718192021
2122232425262728
2829303101020304
November 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSaSu
2829303101020304
0405060708091011
1112131415161718
1819202122232425
2526272829300102
December 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSaSu
2526272829300102
0203040506070809
0910111213141516
1617181920212223
2324252627282930
3031010203040506
January 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSaSu
3031010203040506
0607080910111213
1314151617181920
2021222324252627
2728293031010203
February 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSaSu
2728293031010203
0304050607080910
1011121314151617
1718192021222324
2425262728010203
March 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSaSu
2425262728010203
0304050607080910
1011121314151617
1718192021222324
2425262728293031
3101020304050607
April 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSaSu
3101020304050607
0708091011121314
1415161718192021
xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx
May 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSaSu
xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx
2627282930310102
June 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSaSu
2627282930310102
0203040506070809
0910111213141516
xxxxxxxx
2324252627282930
3001020304050607
July 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSaSu
3001020304050607
0708091011121314
1415161718192021
2122232425262728
2829303101020304
August 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSaSu
2829303101020304
0405060708091011
1112131415161718
1819202122232425
2526272829303101
September 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSaSu
0102030405060708
0809101112131415
1516171819202122
2223242526272829
2930010203040506
October 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSaSu
2930010203040506
0607080910111213
1314151617181920
2021222324252627
2728293031010203
November 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSaSu
2728293031010203
0304050607080910
1011121314151617
1718192021222324
2425262728293001
December 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSaSu
0102030405060708
0809101112131415
1516171819202122
2223242526272829
2930310102030405

*Price based on stay length and does not include taxes or vacation extras
View all availability Call: 1-888-853-7770 Live Chat Now
View Special Offers
Price Reductionfrom 10-07-2018 to 10-13-2018$3,120.00 $2,303.70
Price Reductionfrom 10-14-2018 to 10-20-2018$2,425.00 $1,940.00
Price Reductionfrom 10-21-2018 to 10-27-2018$2,425.00 $1,940.00
Price Reductionfrom 10-28-2018 to 11-03-2018$2,425.00 $1,940.00

Featured Amenities

  • Recreation Room
  • Private Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Elevator
  • FirePlace
  • Event Home
  • Pool Table
  • Sun Select Home
  • Internet Access
  • Sheets Provided
  • Non-Smoking

Virtual Tour

Top Rated Review

5

The rental was everything we had hoped it would be, I have been coming to the Outer Banks as man and boy since 1954 and in my experience, the view of the water and access to the beach are unmatched. …

Location map